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Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Ohio Statutory Requirements and Administrative Rules for
Offerings under Rule 506 of Regulation D

Filing Requirements: A copy or printout of the Form D electronically filed with the SEC must be filed with
the Division within fifteen days of the date of first sale in Ohio. A check for $100.00 payable to the Ohio
Treasurer of State must be included with the Form D. The filing should be sent to the Division’s address
listed on this letterhead. Only issuers relying on Rule 506 of Regulation D may file the Form D with the
Division — the Form D is not acceptable for claims of exemption under federal Rules 504 or 505. See R.C.
1707.03(X).

No Consent to Service of Process: As of September 28, 2011, issuers are no longer required to submit a
consent to service of process with Form D filings. See R.C. 1707.11.

Items Not Required: The Division interprets section 18(b)(4)(D) of the Securities Act of 1933 as prohibiting
any state specific requirements other than submission of the Form D and a filing fee. Accordingly, an
original, or “manual,” signature is not required. The Division does not require any state specific legend on the
Form D. Sales reports and notices of termination of the offering may be submitted but are not required.
Couver letters are customary but not required.

Late Filings: For filings made more than fifteen days after the date of first sale in Ohio, an additional
$100.00 penalty fee must be included with the $100 filing fee and the late Form D. See R.C. 1707.391 and
Ohio Administrative Code 1301:6-3-391(F).

Amendments/Renewals: Amendments to an issuer’s initial Form D filing should be filed with the Division
anytime they are filed with the SEC. Annual renewals are considered amendments and should also be filed
with the Division. No additional fees are required to file amendments. See R.C. 1707.03(X)(3).

Commissions: Commissions or other compensation for the sale of securities in the State of Ohio may be paid
only to dealers and salespersons licensed by the Division, or a bank. Finder’s fees may not be paid to
unlicensed persons. See R.C. 1707.01(E), 1707.01(0), 1707.14 and 1707.44(A).

Issuer Licensing Exception: An issuer (including its officers, directors, managers, partners, trustees, or
employees) selling its own securities may not be required to be licensed by the Division if no commissions or
other compensation based on the sale of securities are paid. See R.C. 1707.01(E)(1)(a).

Burden of Proof: In any litigation, the burden of proving compliance with an exemption is on the party
claiming the benefit of the exemption. See R.C. 1707.45.

The Ohio Securities Act and related administrative rules are available on the Division’s website,
http://www.com.ohio.gov/secu/, under “Securities,” then “Laws & Rules.” The Form D is available at
http://www.sec.gov/info/smallbus/cfformd.htm.

For additional questions, you may call the Registration Section at (614) 466-2494.

EOE/ADA SERVICE PROVIDER FOR TTY USERS DIAL ORS 1-800-750-0750

Rev. 3/16
77 South High Street 614 | 644 7381
22™ Floor Fax 614 | 466 3316
Columbus, Ohio 43215-6131 U.S.A. TTY/TDD 800 | 750 0750

An Equal Opportunity Employer and Service Provider www.com.ohio.gov


http://www.com.ohio.gov/secu/
http://www.sec.gov/info/smallbus/cfformd.htm



