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Bedding, Stuffed Toys & Upholstered Furniture

Frequently Asked Questions

. What is a Bedding License?

. How long is a license good for?

. How do | apply for a license?

. Are there any other requirements to licensing?

. Are secondhand products required to be sanitized?

. How will I know when it's time for me to renew my license?

. What are annual reports and how will | know when to pay?

. I only make 100 items per year, but | do set up in a craft mall. Do | still need to be registered?
. | make different items. Do | have to submit one of each item for testing?

0. How often is testing required?
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1. What is a Bedding License?

A Bedding license provides the ability to those who wish to import, distribute, or manufacture bedding,
upholstered furniture, and stuffed toy products in the state of Ohio. Additionally, this license allows for the
resale of these products by renovators, second-hand dealers and auction houses. Finally, the license allows
for recreation vehicle and mobile home dealers to offer their products for sale in Ohio. Articles such as
cushion seats and mattresses contained within the recreation vehicles and mobile homes also fall within the
jurisdiction of this license.

2. How long is a license good for?
The license is valid for a period of one year. The license is required to be renewed on an annual basis.

3. How do | apply for a license?
You may request a registration packet to be mailed or faxed to you. You can also obtain this information
from our website. The packet comes with instructions on how to complete the application.

4. Are there any other requirements to licensing?

Importers, distributors, and manufacturers are required to submit a sample of their product along with two
law labels to our laboratory. The filling materials of the sample will be tested and the law labels reviewed to
ensure proper identification of the fillers. If corrections to the law label are necessary, notification will be
provided.
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5. Are secondhand products required to be sanitized?
Yes, any second-hand article that contains hidden fillers or stuffing is required to be sanitized prior to being
offered for sale.

6. How will | know when it's time for me to renew my license?
You need to renew your license prior to the expiration date indicated on your certificate. Our office will make
every effort to send a renewal notice prior to the expiration date.

7. What are annual reports and how will | know when to pay?

Annual reports are used to notify registrants that .04 cents per article sold or offered for sale in Ohio is due.
Annual notices are mailed along with the annual renewal invoice approximately 30 days prior to the
registration expiration date. The information for these reports represents activity for the 12 months prior to
the registration expiration date. The annual report is to be returned to the division within 30 days of receipt
of the notice.

8. I make 100 or fewer items per year, but | do set up in a craft mall. Do | still need to be registered?
Yes. Any vendor that uses craft malls, consignment stores or flea markets are required to register. This is
due to the fact that these are business entities and are not considered leisure pursuits.

9. I make different items. Do | have to submit one of each item for testing?
Yes, but only if the filling materials change from product to product. If the filling content does not vary, only
one sample is required.

10. How often is testing required?
Only once if your filling content remains the same.



