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Since January 7, 1990, Section 3737.881 of the Ohio Revised Code has required that an installer certified by the State
Fire Marshal supervise the installation, closure, removal or repair of underground storage tanks (USTs). Rule
1301:7-9-11 of the Administrative Code describes the process for becoming a Certified Underground Storage Tank
(UST) Installer.

FIRST TIME APPLICANTS FOR CERTIFICATION
Candidates submitting an application to become a Certified UST Installer for the first time shall comply with the
following:

» Complete an application by the State Fire Marshal’s Office and pay an application fee of $150;
* Be at least 18 years of age;

» If not a resident of Ohio, the candidate shall provide an irrevocable consent to legal service;

* Be in good standing with all authorities requiring licensing;

* Supply three business references;

* Complete an examination requirement; and

* Demonstrate knowledge of UST systems in one of three designated ways:

Option 1: Satisfactorily complete a 36-hour Installer Training Program approved by the State Fire Marshal, and
within two years immediately prior to making application, participate in the installation or, performance of major
repairs on site to, closure-in-place, or removal of three UST systems;

Option 2: Be a registered professional engineer, and within two years immediately prior to making application,
participate in the installation or, performance of major repairs on site to, closure-in-place, or removal of six UST
systems; or

Option 3: Within two years immediately prior to making application, participate in the installation of,
performance of major repairs on site to, closure-in-place, or removal of 12 UST systems, of which six shall have
involved installation of UST systems.

EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS

The Bureau of Testing and Registration administers the Certified UST Installers Examination. Applications to take the
examination must be submitted to the Bureau of Testing and Registration. A non-refundable fee of $25 is required to take
the examination. Ifapplication is accepted, the candidate must take a two-part written multiple-choice examination and
receive a score of a least 75% on each part. Part I of the examination is a test covering Ohio’s rules governing Certified
UST installers (Rules 1301:7-9-01 through 1301:7-9-19 of the Administrative Code). Part II is testing covering industry
UST standards.
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A photo ID must be presented to be seated for the examination. Candidates for the certified installer examination will be
permitted to bring a copy of Ohio’s UST rules with them to the test to use as reference material (Copies of these rule may be
found on the state fire marshal web site at http://www.com.ohio.gov/fire/bustMain.aspx). Candidates may reschedule to take the
exam without paying another $25. Candidates who fail either portion of the exam will be charged another $25 fee if they wish
to retake the exam.

The Bureau of Testing and Registration complies with the American with Disabilities Act and requires three weeks advance
notice for special arrangements. If a visual, physical or other special need prevents you from taking the examination under
normal circumstances, you may request special accommodation. A special accommodations request form can be obtained from
the Bureau of Testing and Registration. All special requests must be submitted with the examination application.

RENEWAL OF UST INSTALLER CERTIFICATION
UST Installer Certifications (sometimes called UST Installer Licenses) shall be renewed annually. Candidates wishing to renew
a certification shall comply with the following:

* Prior to the expiration date of the certification, submit a renewal application to the State Fire
Marshal’s Office accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $150;

» Submit two passport-size photos with renewal paperwork in order to receive a photo ID card;

* Demonstrate attendance at a minimum of eight hours of fire marshal-approved continuing
education within the previous twelve months;

* Be in good standing with all authorities requiring licensing; and

* In special cases, complete an examination requirement, if such requirement is announced by the
fire marshal.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Application packets and testing dates for becoming a Certified UST Installer may be obtained through the Bureau of Testing and
Registration by calling (614)752-7126.

Bureau of Underground Storage Tank Regulations
8895 East Main Street
Reynoldsburg, Ohio 43068
614-752-7938
http://www.com.ohio.gov/fire/bustMain.aspx
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