OHIO MINOR LABOR LAW
Any person less than 18 years of age who has not obtained a high school diploma
or its equivalence and/or individuals subject to the exemptions contained within
Every employer shall post, in a conspicuous place frequented by minors,
a printed abstract of the minor labor laws, furnished by the Wage and Hour
Division, and a complete listing of all minor employees which shall contain, at
a minimum, the minor's name, age, date of birth, and occupation. The Ohio Board
of Education must authorize the minor to be employed by a particular establishment.
Minors must be at least 14 years of age to obtain a work permit. Work permits can
be deemed by the school superintendent. A new work permit must be issued each time
the minor changes employment. Within three (3) days of termination of employment,
the work permit shall be returned to the issuing authority. Also upon termination,
payment for any and all wages must be received by the minor by the next regularly
scheduled pay period.
During summer months when school is not in session, minors of age 16 to 17 are not
required to obtain work permits, provided that the employer maintains proof of age
and a signed statement from their parent or guardian consent to their proposed employment.
An agreement, prepared in duplicate, as to the wages and/or compensation the minor
shall receive for each day, week, month, year, or per piece.
Sample agreements are available from the Bureau, upon request. No employer
shall reduce the wage of any minor without giving him written notice of at least
24 hours prior to the reduction. Copies of the Minor Wage Agreement are available here.
No employer shall retain or withhold wages or any part thereof because of presumed
negligence, failure to comply with rules, breakage of machinery, or alleged incompetence
to produce any standard of merit.
All minors are required to have a 30-minute uninterrupted break when working more
than five (5) consecutive hours, which must be documented as stated above.
- Employment Hour : Minors of Age 14 to 15
When school is IN session, minors of age 14 to 15
cannot be employed
before 7:00 A.M. or after 7:00 P.M., neither can they work more than three (3) hours
on any School Day, nor can they work more than 18 hours in any School Week, nor
can they work during school hours unless employment is incidental to bona fide vocational
When school is NOT in session, minors of age 14 to 15
be employed before 7:00 A.M. or after 9:00 P.M., neither can they work more than
eight (8) hours per day, nor can they work more than 40 hours per week.
- Employment Hour : Minors of Age 16 to 17
When school is IN session, minors of age 16 to 17
cannot be employed
before 7:00 A.M. or 6:00 A.M. if not employed after 8:00 P.M. the previous night,
nor can they work after 11:00 P.M. on any of Sunday through Thursday. There is no
limitation in the number of hours per day or per week.
When school is NOT in session, minors of age 16 to 17
limitations as to the starting and ending times, neither do they have any limitations
in the number of hours per day or per week.
Certain occupations are considered hazardous to minors. Therefore, minors are prohibited
from working in these occupations. For further information, check the list of Prohibited Occupations for Minors.
The above is a summary of ORC Chapter 4109.
This summary does not include all of the requirements of Ohio's minor labor laws.
Persons should refer to Chapter 4109
for specific requirements applicable to them, or contact the Ohio Department of
Commerce, Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration.
If you would like to reach us, you may contact us at:
Ohio Department of Commerce
Division of Industrial Compliance and Labor
Bureau of Wage & Hour Administration
6606 Tussing Rd.
PO Box 4009
Reynoldsburg, OH 43068-9009
Phone: (614) 644-2239
Or you may E-Mail your query to:
Information on this site is believed to be accurate but is not guaranteed. The State
of Ohio disclaims any liability for any errors or omissions.