Web Content Viewer
Manufactured Home Inspectors
Manufactured Home Inspectors

Manufactured Home Inspectors

The Division of Industrial Compliance, through the Ohio Board of Building Standards (BBS), certifies and regulates manufactured home inspectors and inspection agencies. An inspector reviews installation plans and inspects manufactured home installations to ensure they comply with Ohio's Model Manufactured Home Installation Standards.

To Apply for Manufactured Home Inspector Certification

In order to be certified as a manufactured home inspector, an applicant shall do all of the following: 

  • Provide proof of experience
    • The applicant must meet at least one of the following:
      • Three (3) years' experience in a position of responsibility, directly related to construction (e.g., foreman), which required the ability to effectively read and interpret building plans and specifications; or
      • Three (3) years' experience in an architect or engineer office performing building design or drafting duties or construction supervision; or
      • An associate degree (two (2) years) from a college or university in architecture, engineering, or building technology; or
      • Three (3) years' as a quality assurance inspector or field service technician in a manufactured home manufacturing plant; or
      • Three (3) years as an Ohio licensed manufactured home installer; or
      • International Code Council or Board of Building Standards current and active certification as a building inspector, residential inspector, or plans reviewer; or 
      • Any combination of experience and education in the manufactured home construction industry or building construction industry totaling three (3) years as approved by the Division; or
      • Other equivalent experience as approved by the Division.
  • Submit a completed application form
  • Submit a Felony Certification Statement
  • Pay the application fee of $50.00 and the eLicense transaction fee of $3.50
  • Successfully complete an approved manufactured home inspector training course
  • Pass the manufactured home inspector certification examination

To apply for a manufactured home inspector certification, individuals must create an eLicense account at the State of Ohio's eLicense Portal (if they do not already have one) and submit their application and application materials via the eLicense Portal. Once an individual has their own eLicense account, on their eLicense Dashboard, go to "New License Applications" and click on the "+" icon to start a new application. Select "Dept of Commerce Manufactured Homes" for the Board; select "Inspector" for License; and select the applicable application type. From there, follow the prompts to complete and submit the application.

Renewing a Manufactured Home Inspector Certification

Manufactured home inspector certifications must be renewed every three years. An inspector must renew the certification online via the eLicense Portal, where the inspector must do all of the following: