Web Content Viewer
Actions

Manufactured Home Installer License

Manufactured Home Installer License

Installer License Application Requirements

Applicants for a manufactured home installer license must submit all of the following:

  • Completed and signed application 
  • Passport-size photograph with an original signature on the back or a clear copy of a state driver's license or state identity card
  • List of all other states in which the applicant holds an installer's license and a copy of those licenses
  • List of 5 most recent manufactured homes or home components installed by the applicant in Ohio
  • 3 references from persons who are familiar with applicant's installation work experience and competency.
    • The references must come from licensed installers, retailers, manufacturers, manufactured home park operators, manufactured home design professionals, or certified manufactured home inspectors.
  • Notarized statement from a supervisor or other responsible person, attesting to the applicant's experience installing manufactured homes for at least one year
  • Certificate of completion showing that the applicant completed an approved initial licensing education course within 1 year of the date of the application
  • Evidence showing that the applicant passed the installer licensing examination 
  • Evidence of compliance with section 4123.35 of the Revised Code with respect to the payment of premiums for workers' compensation (e.g., workers' compensation certificate)
  • A statement regarding felony convictions
  • Proof of insurance or surety bond coverage (must be 1 of the following):
    • $25,000 surety bond; or
    • $300,000 general liability insurance policy and a $10,000 surety bond; or
    • $1,000,000 general liability insurance policy
  • Application fee of $250.00 and $3.50 eLicense fee

To apply for a manufactured home installer license, individuals must create an eLicense account at the State of Ohio's eLicense Portal (if they do not already have one) and submit their application and application materials via the eLicense Portal. The original notarized statement must be mailed in to the following address: Division of Industrial Compliance, Attn: Manufactured Homes Program, 6606 Tussing Rd., Reynoldsburg, OH 43068.

License Renewal

Installers must renew their licenses prior to their date of expiration on the State of Ohio's eLicense Portal. To renew the license, an installer must submit all of the following:

  • Completed and signed the renewal application 
  • Signed statement regarding felony or other criminal convictions
  • Proof of the required insurance or surety bond coverage
  • Proof of completion of eight (8) credit hours of approved continuing education courses
  • Evidence of compliance with section 4123.35 of the Revised Code with respect to the payment of premiums for workers' compensation (e.g., workers' compensation certificate)
  • Renewal fee of $250.00 and $3.50 eLicense fee