Web Content Viewer
Actions

Broker License Examination Application

License Qualification Process:

The Ohio Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing, Department of Commerce, issues professional licenses to the following:

Real estate salespersons, brokers and appraisers. To receive a state license, an applicant must meet the following requirements:

  1. Be at least 18 years of age.
  2. Be a United States citizen or a legal alien* (must provide proof of being a legal alien).
  3. Be honest, truthful and of good reputation.
  4. Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude. Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the past two years as determined by a court of law or violated any rules of the Ohio Division of Real Estate.
  5. If originally licensed on or after January 3, 1984, proof of satisfactory completion of a minimum of two years of post-secondary education. The pre-licensure requirements may be included in these two years.
  6. Complete the education and experience qualifications.
  7. Pay the applicable fees.
  8. Complete background check.
  9. Pass the examination.

Qualifying to Sit for the Examination:

  1. A completed Broker License Examination Application with $135, non-refundable fee.
  2. Submit proof of completion of the education requirements (a copy of official transcripts or course completion certificates).
  3. A statement describing any real estate experience other than sales/leasing.
    Once the Division processes a complete application, the applicant’s information is sent to the testing vendor. The testing vendor will process the information and send the applicant a Candidate Information Bulletin with instructions on scheduling the exams. The applicant must pass the State and National portions of the Ohio Real Estate exam in order for a license to be issued. Passing score: 75

Completing and Mailing in Application:

Mail the completed Broker Examination Application with required documents and $135 non-refundable check or money order, made payable to the Ohio Division of Real Estate, to the following address:

Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing
77 South High Street, 20th floor
Columbus, OH 43215

Background Check Instructions:

All applicants for initial registration, licensure or certification are required to complete a criminal records check of both state and FBI records. This requirement also applies to an applicant who is “upgrading” their credential.

An applicant must have fingerprints taken by the Webcheck® user (a business, government agency or private entity that provides criminal record check services) approved by the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI&I) within ten (10) days after the date of filing an application. Applicants should not have fingerprints taken before filing an application with the Division of Real Estate.

An applicant must contact and arrange with a Webcheck® user to have fingerprints taken and submitted to BCI&I using the Webcheck® system. Applicants should take their government issued photo identification with them to the Webcheck® location. Some Webcheck® users can only submit fingerprints for a state records check and not an FBI records check. The applicant should confirm the Webcheck® user can submit both state and FBI fingerprints to BCI&I.

The applicant must pay all fees associated with the criminal records check to the Webcheck® user at the time the fingerprints are taken.

An applicant must instruct the Webcheck® user to use the following reason codes and to have BCI &I send the results (state and FBI criminal records check) to the Division at this address:

Reason Codes

  • BCI&I Reason Code: 4735 05 and/or 121 08
  • FBI Reason Code: 121 08

Address

Ohio Division of Real Estate & Professional Licensing
77 S High St., 20th Fl.
Columbus, OH 43215-6133

Results

  • BCI&I submits results to the Division within thirty (30) days of BCI&I’s receipts of the
    applicant’s fingerprints.
  • Failure to timely comply with the criminal records check requirement may result in the
    denial of an application.

Obtain a Copy

You may obtain a copy of your FBI Identification Record by sending a request to:

FBI’s CJIS Division
Attn: Record Request
1000 Custer Hollow Rd.
Clarksburg, WV 26306

You are required to provide the following:

  1. Your written request.
  2. Payment for the $18 processing fee, either by certified check or money order made payable to the U.S. Treasury, or a credit card. For credit card payment information, refer to www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/fprequest.htm. 
  3. A current, original ten print fingerprint submission (not previously processed) taken by a local law enforcement agency and bearing your name, date of birth, and place of birth.

Challenge the Record

If, after reviewing your record, you believe it is inaccurate or incomplete, you may challenge the record by contacting the agency (or agencies) that originally submitted the information or by sending your challenge to:

FBI’s CJIS Division
Attn: Correspondence Group
1000 Custer Hollow Rd
Clarksburg, WV 26306

Individuals requesting a Challenge and Review of their Ohio criminal history record, should utilize the following procedure:

  1. A written request for a challenge & review must be submitted to the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification & Investigation, Identification Division. This request must include a brief explanation for the reason the record is being challenged, the individuals name and complete mailing address.
  2. The individual must be fingerprinted by a law enforcement or criminal justice agency to provide positive identification. All data fields on the fingerprint card must be completely filled out. To ensure expeditious processing the reason fingerprinted data field should contain “Challenge & Review” (There is no fee charge for this service)
  3. The required items listed above should be mailed together to:

Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification & Investigation
Attn: Challenge & Review
PO Box 365
London, Ohio 43140