Web Content Viewer
Actions

Salesperson & Broker FAQ's

Salesperson & Broker FAQ's

How do I notify the Division of a personal change of address?

You can either complete a Change Application - Individual (COM3628) or send an email to web.real@com.state.oh.us with the following information: current address, new address (PO Boxes not allowed without a physical address on file) and file/license number.

May I use a PO Box as my business address?

PO Boxes are not allowed without a physical address on file.

May I start a virtual office in Ohio?

No. A real estate company is required to maintain a definite place of business in Ohio.

How do I subscribe to the Division newsletter?

Please send an email to web.real@com.ohio.gov requesting to be added – it’s that easy! Please be sure to add us to your address book so we don’t get routed to your spam or junk folder.

How do I renew my salesperson license?

1. Submit renewal fee $135.00
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
3. Complete and submit a Combined Renewal Application – COM3681
4. All paper work must be submitted or postmark on or before your CE due date

How do I renew my broker license?

1. Submit renewal fee $180.00
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
3. Complete and submit a Combined Renewal Application – COM3681
4. All paper work must be submitted or postmark on or before your CE due date

How do I renew my salespersons license if it is in a suspended status?

1. Submit renewal fee $227.50
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
3. Complete a Transfer/Reactivation Application and Education Compliance Form - COM3572
4. Have broker return original license

How do I renew my broker license if it is in a suspended status?

1. Submit renewal fee $295
2. Submit copies of completed 30 hours of CE
3. Complete a Transfer/Reactivation Application and Education Compliance Form - COM3576
4. Return company license

How long are pre-licensure courses valid?

Pre-licensure courses are valid for ten years from the date each course was taken.

What is the best advice you can give me about answering the seven legal and ethical questions on a Division form or application if I am unsure whether I should answer yes or no?

When in doubt, answer YES and explain fully the circumstances in an attachment to your
application.

I am a broker for a real estate company that does not engage in property management. However, my salespeople would like to start offering property management services on their own. Is this OK?

No. A salesperson must run any and all property management and/or leasing activities through the broker with which the salesperson is licensed. If the salesperson offers property management on their own, they would be in violation of license law.

I am not due to renew for another year but I have finished all of my continuing education. Can I send in my renewal paperwork and money now?

No. The earliest you may file your renewal is two months prior to your renewal deadline.

How can I find out my CE due date?

License information can be found at the Division of Real Estate’s website by visiting the eLicense Center and choosing Lookup License Information. The lookup is a search engine where users can access information by the last name or license number. Simply choose Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing from the “Board” dropdown. Then submit a last name or license number to see the issuance date and CE due date information. You may also call the Division at (614) 466-4100 or TTY/TDD (800) 750-0750.

I received an advisory letter. What should I do next?

Read your letter carefully! Your advisory letter serves as a warning and will tell you what actions you took that are a minor violation of license law and what actions you should take in the future to prevent you from repeating or compounding that violation.

Does a listing agent have to advertise “agent/owner” if the agent is a principle in the company that owns the property?

Yes. The agent would need to disclose that information in any advertisement.

Can the completion of my 10 hour post-education requirement count toward my 30 hours of required continuing education?

No, your 10-hour post-licensure education and continuing education are two different requirements. You may begin taking continuing education prior to completing your 10 hour post-licensure though.

Do I need to submit any documentation to the Division to show that I have completed my 30 hours of continuing education, or is the online roster posting enough information?

You must submit copies of your continuing education completion certificates to the Division to show that you have completed the required coursework. If you do not submit those certificates to the Division by your continuing education due date, your license will be placed into a suspended status.

If I submit more than the required 30 hours of continuing education coursework to the Division, can the extra hours count toward my next continuing education requirement?

Any roll over hours, up to 10 hours, will be considered elective hours – they cannot count toward the nine required core class hours.

How can I tell which course-types I have completed fulfill the three hour Core Law, three hour Civil Rights, three hour Canons of Ethics and 21 hour elective continuing education course requirements?

Once you complete a course, you will see a course certification number on your course completion certificate. The certification number includes a letter that serves as a course-type designator:
D – Core Law
G – Civil Rights
C – Canon of Ethics
E – Elective*
F – Computer Specific (elective)*
B – Computer Basic (elective)*

*A licensee may only take a maximum of 15 hours of computer electives

Must I disclose a familial relationship that I have with my client?

Yes, pursuant to Ohio Revised Code 4735.57 you must do so if you are acting as a dual agent.

Must a phone number for the broker or brokerage appear in the broker’s printed advertising?

No, there is no specific requirement that this appear in the broker’s printed advertising.

Is it permissible for a licensed salesperson in a team to pay another licensed salesperson in a team a commission for activities requiring a license?

No. Ohio Revised Code 4735.20 and Ohio Revised Code 4735.21 implicitly provide that commissions shall only be paid in the name of the brokers to the broker’s salesperson.

My broker asked me to just sign my application and told me he would fill out the form and send it in. Is that OK?

No. You are responsible for the accuracy of the answers on any of the forms you certify by signing.

What services may my unlicensed personal assistant provide?

If your personal assistant is unlicensed, that individual may provide only clerical support services. They may file, take messages, and schedule appointments. An unlicensed personal assistant may not provide property-related information or services.

I’d like to advertise using my nickname. What nicknames are permitted in advertising?

Please download the document to learn more.