Web Content Viewer
About State Fire Marshal
About State Fire Marshal

About State Fire Marshal

Ohio's Division of State Fire Marshal, located in Reynoldsburg, is the oldest established office of its kind in the United States. The Division's mission is to safeguard the public, its property and the environment from fire and related risks through education, investigation and enforcement.

It consists of eight bureaus:

  • Administration
  • Bureau of Underground Storage Tank Regulation (BUSTR)
  • Code Enforcement
  • Fire Prevention
  • Forensic Laboratory
  • Fire Explosion and Investigation Bureau (FEIB)
  • Ohio Fire Academy
  • Testing and Registration 

The State Fire Marshal's Office has worked extensively in the area of Incident Command and  Management, Weapons of Mass Destruction training and personnel protection equipment for all of Ohio's first responders, including fire, EMS, law enforcement, health, and public works.

The SFM also is responsible for modernizing, promulgating and enforcing the Ohio Fire Code, designing and presenting fire prevention programs, analyzing fire-related criminal evidence; investigating the cause and origin of fires and explosions; training firefighters; providing fire safety education to business, industry and the general public; regulating underground storage tanks; testing and training; and licensing and certification support service. 

Popular Topics